DSView vs the old DSLogit Gui

General Topics about DSView software
I haven't yet succeeded in compiliung DSView, but I've got a couple questions.

1) What's the difference between DSView and the old Gui? (Could you please state the changelog?)

2) Why were a completely new repo created? (As the contents seems to be very similar, especially in the structure?)

3) Why do the git repo once again only contian a number of "Initial commits"? We've asked for a long time about having a "normal" commit history etc.
Anders
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:20 pm

Anders wrote:I haven't yet succeeded in compiliung DSView, but I've got a couple questions.

1) What's the difference between DSView and the old Gui? (Could you please state the changelog?)

2) Why were a completely new repo created? (As the contents seems to be very similar, especially in the structure?)

3) Why do the git repo once again only contian a number of "Initial commits"? We've asked for a long time about having a "normal" commit history etc.


1) We have stated the changelog in the NEWS file of the DSView repository.
0.92 (2015-04-15)
-----------------
* Add DSLogic Pro and DSCope support
* Add Stream mode to DSLogic & DSLogic Pro
* Support up to 1G samples @ LA mode
* Add zero adjustment @ Oscilloscope mode
* Support zero skew parameters restore
* Enhance stbility
* Fix other bugs

2)The name of the old GUI project is not suitable for new hardware and future products. So we want to restart a new repo for the feature GUI work.

3)DSView is created based on the old GUI project. This is just the first submit. We will maintain and do a normal commit on the new repo in the future.

Thanks.
Andy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:20 am

Sure, there can be a number of valid reasons to change the name. But h that could easily have been done as a fork of the old repo, south regular commits...

Unfortunately, I'll have to say that I won't anticipate any regular commits (the open source way) until I see it...
Anders
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:20 pm

We don't know we can rename the old repo. That's so stupid.
Anyway, we have deleted the new repo, rename the old one, and pushed all the changes.

We know we did a mess job on the version control in the past. We will change and commit code in a right way this time.
Really thanks for all of your comment.
Andy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:20 am

Thanks! That's a lot better. Not least as the repo (and Github project) now keeps all old issues and pull requests.

One comment, though it's too late to do anything about it. In the last of your 3 renaming commits, you're also doing a lot of code refactoring and adding lots of new code. Ideally, the refactoring and addition of new code should have been in multiple commits, to make it easier to review and understand the changes being done. Please, think about doing small and logical commits in the future...
Anders
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:20 pm

Hi Anders,

This is the history reason for the last commit. We will do standard commits from now on.
We have posted a branching model on the forum, which we want to follow:
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=93

Any suggestion, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks.
Andy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:20 am

Thanks, this look a lot better! I hope to see your commits there also, and not only pull-requests. As soon as you starts pushing your commits here, I guess that we're as good as we'll be.

Of course, the best would have been to kept your work as a branch in a sigrok-repo, though that's likely by far too much work to rewrite your history. Though, that would have med it possible for you to re-sync with upstream sigrok...

Though, in all, I'm pretty happy with this, as long as the updates keeps coming to the new repo. Hopefully we won't have to wait until a completely new release before you push your work.

Cheers!
Anders
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:20 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest
cron