Page 1 of 1

Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:40 pm
by eugene
Hi everyone!
I'm pleased to start up the first topic on this bradn new forum! Yey !

I've received my reward (DSlogic core+scope extension) and I'm willing to assemble a fully autonomous oscilloscope based on it.

I already have a PC monitor so I "only" need a computer dedicated to the DSLogic. First I was hoping I could use my Raspberry Pi, but as already mentionned on the kickstarter page by someone, the performance will be way too low.

That's what bring me here : what would be the minimum requirement as a PC for running the DSLogic software smoothly? The only purpose of this machine will be the DSLogic, so I think I'm going with the Linux version as I think it'll be faster (Linux OS will use less ressources than a Windows OS). I'll make an autorun at startup of DSLogic so it'll be usable as an oscilloscope, appart from the fact that it has a mouse/keyboard.

I've already looked around and found these fanless barebone mini PCs for about $100:
  • CPU : Intel D525 1.8GHz
  • 8GB SSD
  • 2GB to 8GB RAM
  • HDMI+VGA out
  • Wifi
  • RS232

Is it enough to run a snappy DSLogic software ? Is it way too powerful ?
What do you think ? What is your experience and configuration of PC running this little thing?

Thank you !

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 5:46 pm
by Andy
I think the Intel D525 mini PC is enough to run DSLogic software.
And also, I'm interested in the candidate of Raspberry Pi. Could anyone with Raspberry Pi on hand do a test on this?

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 6:55 pm
by eugene
Hi Andy,

thanks for the reply. I actually have one Raspberry Pi. I'll try compile the DSLogic software and run it on the Pi.
Is there a way to measure the performance? Like some kind of Frame per Second command ? Otherwise it will only be a "feeling" which is not objective.

You say that the mini PC should be enough, but is there some minimal PC requirement ? Somethinf factual ?

Thank you!

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:32 am
by wifipower
hi,

i plan to do same with an quad core udoo PC : www.udoo.org

but i agree, some factual performance may be a good idea.
the only think to verify ( i think), is the availability of a USB2.0 port ?

regards

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:43 pm
by Andy
Hi eugene,

Currently, there is no a direct way to measure the performance. "feeling" may be the only way. We can attempt to add some metric for this in next version.
About the minimal PC requirement, we don't do a overall test, so can't give a standard answer.

Hi wifipower,

The CPU performance and ability of USB host controller would be the focus.

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:22 pm
by eugene
Hi,

I've just tried to compile DSlogic software under RaspberryPi.
Compilation of libusbx and libsigrok4DSlogic went OK, but I'm stuck withthe DSLogic-gui compilation.

Apparently, there's a package missing "libsigrokdecode-dev" with version>=0.3

I'm not a linux expert (in fact I'm a real noob!), so it's maybe just a simple thing to fix. Can someone help ?

note : i tried to "apt-get install libsigrokdecode-dev" but it installs an older version of the lib, which is not enough for DSlogic.

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 10:25 pm
by Andy
According to the INSTALL file, you can install th libsigrokdecode lib by following steps:
$ git clone git://sigrok.org/libsigrokdecode
$ cd libsigrokdecode
$ ./autogen.sh
$ ./configure
$ make
$ sudo make install

Thanks.

Re: Autonomous oscilloscope station

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:07 pm
by eugene
Hello,

I tried what you suggested and I got some error during the ./configure.sh

"python 3.2 is missing" !

so I tried to install python3 by doign this:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install python3
sudo apt-get install python-setuptools
sudo apt-get install python3-pip
alias vi='vim'
alias python='python3.2'
alias pip='pip-3.2'


but it fails during the install of python3-pip

ANy suggestion ? (please remember I'm a real noob when it comes to linux, so I barely understand what I'm doing so far!)